Last weeks debate leading up to the straw poll I can certainly say was the most entertaining of the televised events this year. Bachmann came out swinging, Newt gained kudos for how he turned the campaign implosion question back on the questioner (and I liked his response about the FED too), Mitt was Mitt, looking good and trying not to make too many waves, Cain had his likable manner and # point plans, Pawlenty after coming after Bachmann has dropped, Huntsman stood by his record and his backing of the Boehner debt ceiling plan, Santorun thinks his beliefs trump the constitution (10th amendment), and Paul once again tries to educate the audience and other candidates.

Like I said, it was by far the most entertaining of the Debates so far but overall I also think the quality of questions and the interplay between the candidates was much better and more telling as well. Here is a link to watch the Debate for those that may wish to see it.

Below are also the results for the Ames Straw Poll. I don’t think any of it is really surprising but I definitely admit to being pleased by Ron Paul’s showing. Hey, I don’t make a secret of my bias šŸ™‚ though I overall try to keep my posts to the facts.

28.55% (4823 votes) ā€“ Michele Bachmann
27.65% (4671 votes) ā€“ Ron Paul
13.58% (2293 votes) ā€“ Tim Pawlenty
9.81% (1657 votes) ā€“ Rick Santorum
8.62% (1456 votes) ā€“ Herman Cain
4.25% (718 votes) ā€“ Rick Perry (write-in)
3.36% (567 votes) ā€“ Mitt Romney
2.28% (385 votes) ā€“ Newt Gingrich
0.41% (69 votes) ā€“ Jon Huntsman
0.21% (35 votes) ā€“ Thaddeus McCotter
0.96% (162 votes) ā€“ “Scattering” (votes for people not on the ballot who got less than 1%)

